Over 600 players feted on National Sports Day

Central Chronicle News
Bhilai, Aug 30: To mark the occasion of National Sports Day, a felicitation programme “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Pratibha Samman Samaroh was organised under the auspices of Chhattisgarh Congress Committee Sports Cell (Bhilai Cell) where upcoming players who performed outstandingly in National, State, Division and District level were honoured.
The players were given various sports awards, medals and citations in the name of brave martyrs. The list included Mahatma Gandhi Lifetime Sports Achievement Award, Shaheed Indira Gandhi Sports Appreciation Award, Shaheed Rajiv Gandhi Sports Appreciation Award, Shaheed Yogendra Sharma Sports Appreciation Award, Shaheed Jairam Ghati Consultation Award, Shaheed Uday Mudaliar Sports Appreciation Award, Chief Minister Sports Appreciation Award, Shaheed Mahendra Karma Sports Appreciation Award, Major Dhyan Chand Sports Appreciation Award.
The chief guest of this program was Devendra Yadav, MLA, Bhilai Nagar while special guest was Arun Singh Sisodiya, State General Secretary, Pradesh Congress Committee; Bhilai District Congress President Tulsi Sahu, Vice President of Antavyasai Board, Minister of State Neeta Lodhi; State Secretary, Congress Committee Irfan Khan; Wasir Ahmed, Sahi Ram Jakad, Rajiv Yadav, Husain Rizvi, Gaurav Srivastava were present.
They honoured the players with award medals and citations, as well as mentioned the efforts being made by the Congress government towards promoting sports and sportspersons.
They informed that during the last 2.5 years, various sports ground have been constructed in almost every area of Bhilai for convenience of the players and continuous efforts are on improve sports facilities so that Bhilai becomes recognised as Sports Hub with best of the facilities.
Here it needs a mention that National Sports Day is celebrated on August 29 on the occasion of the birth anniversary of the great hockey player Late Major Dhyan Chand. He was famous worldwide as ‘The Magician of Hockey’ under whose leadership India won gold medal in the Olympic Games. It was on this occasion that the award ceremony was organised at the dome shed in Sector -05.
The event was organised by the sports cell team including State General Secretary Sports (Congress) Khwaja and State Secretary Rahul Tamrakar, Simran Singh State Co-Secretary, District President Rizwan Khan, District President Anurag Bhandari, Rajendra Nag, Azhar Ali, Gulshan Singh Rajput, Zeba Khan, Om, Nandu Tandon, Avnikant Singh, Aman Soni, Rahul Singh, Rahul Gupta, Lalan Chowdhary, Saurav Pandey, Vivek Sisodia and Praveen Singh.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button