Mahila Congress condemns centre for LPG price hike

Central Chronicle News
Bhilai, Feb 22: On Monday, the leaders and activists of Mahila Congress staged demonstration at Power House Square against the union government. They condemned the union government over its failure to control the price rise of domestic cooking gas. The demonstrators led by Women Congress State Vice President, former Mayor and Antyavasayi Corporation Vice President Neeta Lodhi prepared a chulha on the road and cooked food on it. They carried the bundle of wood on their head and used it for cooking food. They further condemned the Modi government for uncontrolled rise in the prices of petrol and diesel. Later, they forwarded a memorandum to the President of India seeking his intervention over the matter.
Women Congress State Vice President Nita Lodhi said that housewives are feeling troubled due to the ever rising price of LPG cylinders. The increasing rate of cylinder has affected their household budget. As the earnings are already low, the common women are very worried due to increasing price of gas cylinders.
When the BJP was in opposition, they used to make hue and cry across the nation over small hike in fuel process but after coming to power, they appear to be least bothered. Mahila Congress Bhilai President Julie Arnold said that BJP has cheated the people with false promises and false slogans. The government has excuse for increasing the price, but they donot speak about the ways to control it.
Former minister BD Qureshi, former MLA Bhajan Singh Nirankari, Bhilai Congress President Tulsi Sahu, D Kamaraju, Johan Sinha, Tulsi Patel, Subhadra Singh, Anita Baghel and others also addressed the demonstration. The protesting women cooked khichdi on a chulha on the road. They carried wooden bundles on the head, carried empty gas cylinders, and dragged the two-wheelers as a mark of protest. Neeta Lodhi, Vice President of State Women’s Congress Committee, Julie Arnold, Sosan Logan, Babita Bhaisare, Hiraundhi Janghel, Anita Kathayap, Usha Rajwade, D Nagamani, Sunita Channewar, Sarita Parganiha, Shweta Mishra, Satyavati Sahu, Neelu Limesh, Malti Thakur, Ansuiya Markam, Tulsi Pateli, Subhadra Singh, Rekha Sahu, Renuka Johan Sinha, Sohadra, Durga Sahu, Asha Gaud, Dinsha Tumane, Janaki Sahu, Sandhya Mishra, Neha Sahu, Anisha Baghel, Sangeeta Dewangan, Dauli Kujur, Anita Singh, Helina Moses, Monika Singh and others were present. Neeta Lodhi conducted the programme while Sosan Logan proposed the vote of thanks.

Related Articles

Back to top button