T20 World Cup: USD 1.6 million for winners

Dubai, Oct 10 (PTI): The winners of the ICC men’s T20 World Cup will take home a winners cheque of USD 1.6 million while the runners up will get half that amount, the International Cricket Council confirmed on Sunday. All 16 competing teams will receive a part of the USD 5.6 million allocated as prize money for the tournament, which will be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October 17 to November 14. The two losing semi-finalists will receive USD 400,000 each from the games taking place on November 10 and 11. The teams confirmed to be competing in the Super 12 stage are Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies. The eight teams who will lose out on a semi-final berth will get USD 70,000 each while teams knocked out in the first round will take USD 40,000 each. Meanwhile, there will be two scheduled Drinks Intervals in each game instead of usual one. Each break will last for two minutes and 30 seconds and will be taken at the midpoint of each innings.
The introduction of official drinks break will help the broadcasters earn advertisement revenue worth five minutes and for India matches, the rates are expected to be high.

DRS to make debut in upcoming men’s T20 World Cup

New Delhi: The Decision Review System (DRS) will make its debut in the men’s T20 World Cup to be held in Oman and UAE starting this month, after the ICC approved its usage in the tournament. The ICC announced the introduction of DRS at the upcoming showpiece in the playing conditions for the event released by it earlier this week. The men’s T20 World Cup will be held from October 17 to November14. According to an ESPNcricinfo report, each team will get a maximum of two reviews per innings. The governing body had confirmed in June last year an additional unsuccessful DRS review for each team in each innings of a match across all formats, “keeping in mind that there may be less experienced umpires on duty at times” owing to COVID-19-related reasons. So, the number of unsuccessful appeals per innings for each team has increased to two in the white-ball formats and three in Test matches. DRS was not part of the earlier men’s T20 World Cups as the review system was not applicable in T20s in 2016 when the marquee event was last held.
DRS made its first appearance in an ICC T20I tournament in 2018 at the women’s T20 World Cup in the Caribbean. The system was again used at the 2020 women’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button