Sunil Soni creates new record with big win

Central Chronicle News
Raipur, May 23:
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate from Raipur Lok Sabha seat Sunil Soni on Thursday created a new record by registering win against his rival Congress nominee Pramod Dubey with a huge margin of over 3.46 lakh votes. Considered to be a comparatively weaker candidate, the BJP candidate Sunil Soni riding on the Modi waive not only broke the record of victory margin of seven-time MP Ramesh Bais from Raipur who had won the previous election by a margin of more than 1.70 lakh votes in the year 2014, but also overpowered the sitting Mayor Pramod Dubey who was riding high on confidence after the landslide victory of Congress in the recently held Legislative Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh. BJP candidate Sunil Soni received 8,37,902 votes whereas the Congress candidate received 4,89,664 votes to register a win by huge margin of 3,48,238 votes.
BJP’s Renuka Singh polled 663711 votes whereas Khelsai Singh of Congress polled 505838 votes. Sha Devi Powa of Gondwana Ganatantra Party got 24269 votes to stand third whereas Maya Bhagat of Bahujan Samaj Party stood 4th with 8344 votes. About 29049 votes went in favour of NOTA. NOTA votes have come next to maximum number of votes that went in favour of the candidates of two prominent candidates.
Out of total votes polled in this seat, BJP got 51.22%, Congress 39.5%, BSP 1.45%, Gondwana Ganatantra Party 1.91% and NOTA 2.29%.
After the announcement of candidates in Raipur, a close contest was considered to be on card between the former Mayor Sunil Soni and the sitting Mayor Pramod Dubey but the changed political scenario helped the former not only register win but also create huge impact on party which has a dominance in the Raipur Urban belt but had been reeling hard following recent defeat in Legislative Assembly polls.
BJP candidate Sunil Soni went on to consolidate his lead from round 1 and his lead went on to reach by 3.46 lakh till the last round of the counting of votes.
After 5-6 rounds of counting of votes, it was all clear that the BJP candidate is going to not only win the elections but also to surpass the victory margin in previous elections.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button