Polling for civic body election, by-election on Dec 20

Central Chronicle News
Raipur, Nov 25: Chhattisgarh State Election Commission has announced general election in Raipur district’s Birgaon Municipal Corporation and bye-election in ward no-14 of Gobra-Nawapara Municipal Council. Nomination papers will be accepted from November 27 to December 3, said the Collector and District Returning Officer (Local Election) Raipur Sourabh Kumar and Senior Superintendent of Police Prashant Kumar Agrawal while addressing a press conference here today. They also informed about the election schedule, preparations and arrangements in the urban body of Raipur district.
Giving information about the election schedule, the Collector said that the work of receiving nomination papers would begin with publication of election information at 10:30 am on November 27, 2021. The nomination papers can be received till till 3 PM on 3rd December 2021. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be done from 10 AM onwards on December 4, 2021.
The candidates can withdraw nomination papers till 3 pm on December 6, 2021.
List of candidates contesting election will be prepared after withdrawal of nomination papers on December 6. The allotment of election symbols will also begin with the preparation of the list of candidates. Polling will be held on December 20, 2021 from 8 am to 5 pm and counting of votes and declaration of election results will be done on 23rd December 2021 at 9 am.
Birendra Bahadur Panchbhai appointed as Returning Officer for Birgaon, Nirbhay Sahu for Gobra-Nawapara
The Collector informed that Birendra Bahadur Panchbhai Additional Collector has been appointed as Returning Officer for receiving nomination papers in Birgaon Municipal Corporation. In addition to this 3 Joint Collectors/Deputy Collectors have been made Assistant Returning Officers in Birgaon Municipal Corporation. Nirbhay Sahu Joint Collector, Raipur has been appointed as Returning Officer for Gobra-Nawapara Municipal Council. 24×7 control rooms have been started in both the civic bodies. Control Room for Birgaon Municipal Corporation has the landline number 0771-2277095 while Gobra-Nawapara Municipal Council has landline numbers 07701-233830 and 93293-93901. Section 144 of the Code of Criminal Procedure has come into force with the announcement of elections. Therefore, Sub Divisional Magistrate Raipur has been authorised to grant permission for election campaign meetings, organizing rallies, use of loudspeakers in meetings, use of loudspeakers in campaign vehicles and taking out the procession in Birgaon Municipal Corporation area. Similarly Returning Officer of Gobra-Nawapara has been authorised to grant permission for election rallies, meetings and use of loudspeakers in Gobra-Nawapara area. The permission will be granted on first come first served basis. Use of loudspeaker would remain prohibited between 10 pm and 6 am.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button