Markam appointed PCC Chief, Bhagat to be 13th Minister

Raipur: MLA Kondagaon Mohan Markam has been appointed as the State President of PCC and it is the AICC National President Rahul Gandhi who approved his name. On the other hand, MLA Seetapur who was also in the race for the post of PCC Chief would be appointed as 13th Minister in the Baghel’s government tomorrow.

He would be sworn-in as the 13th Minister in a simple programme to be organised at Rajbhavan on Saturday. The information about appointing Amarjeet Bhagat as the Minister has been sent to Rajbhavan and Governor Anandiben Patel would sworn him as the 13th Minister in Baghel’s government. It is notable that Amarjeet Bhagat was appointed as the MLA for the third time.

Prior to this the AICC National General Secretary KC Venugopal has issued formal information about appointment of Mohan Markam as the PCC President in State. Earlier the name of MLA Seetapur Amarjeet Bhagat was prominently taken for the post of PCC Chief and later with recommendations by the Health Minister TS Singhdeo, a decision was taken to appoint PCC Chief from Bastar region.

Earlier the name of former Minister Manoj Mandavi was taken along with Mohan Markam for the post of State President PCC, but finally the name of Markam was finalised. Markam has won as MLA for second time from Kondagaon and he had defeated the former Minister of BJP government Lata Usendi in the last VS polls. Markam has also worked for the organisation and served as Block President to AICC member as well. Right after formation of new state, the State PCC has for the first time handed over the rein of PCC to a tribal from tribal community.

Prior to this Ramdayal Uike was appointed as Working President in PCC. Not only this so far no State President of PCC was appointed so far by the Congress, despite the fact that Congress got major success from tribal belt in last VS polls 2018. The very appointment of Mohan Markam as President PCC is being seen as efforts to maintain the party’s hold on tribal community and their votes.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button