Mamata files nomination for Bhabanipur

Kolkata, Sep 10 (PTI): TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee Friday filed her nomination for the September 30 Bhabanipur assembly by-poll winning which is an absolute necessity for her to continue as the chief minister.
She will be pitted against BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal and Left Front’s Srijib Biswas. The Congress has decided not to field a candidate against her.
The votes for Bhabanipur as also Jangipur and Samserganj will be counted on October 3 and results declared the same day. Banerjee was accompanied by the wife of state cabinet minister Firhad Hakim at Survey Building in Alipore where she filed her nomination papers. She was later seen greeting people with folded hands before boarding her car. The people of Bhabanipur are eagerly waiting to rewrite history by ensuring Mamata Banerjee’s victory by a record margin. They are waiting to avenge the conspiracy that was hatched to defeat Mamata di at Nandigram, Firhad Hakim told reporters.
TMC supporters lustily cheered their leader with slogans like Bhabanipur Nijer Ghorer Meyekei chai (Bhabanipur wants her own daughter) and Bhabanipur eh Khela Hobe (Game will happen in Bhabanipur). For us, the challenge is not victory as we are confident about it. The challenge is to ensure Didi’s win by a record margin, another TMC worker said.
Banerjee, a resident of Bhabanipur, had won the seat twice in 2011 and 2016 but shifted to Nandigram, where the anti-farmland acquisition movement against the Left Front government had transformed her into a major political force in the volatile state, to dare her former protege and now a BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari on his home turf. Though Banerjee powered the TMC to a resounding win for a third straight term in office, she lost in Nandigram.
She now must win Bhabanipur to ensure an unbroken stint as the chief minister.

BJP fields ‘fearless’ Tibrewal to take on Mamata in her den

Kolkata: BJP leader Priyanka Tibrewal, whom the party has nominated to contest against West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in the September 30 by-poll to the Bhabanipur seat, said on Friday highlighting the “torture and violence” unleashed by the TMC after the assembly polls will be a key issue in the election. Tibrewal, a lawyer, is one of the petitioners in the post-poll violence cases against the TMC government in the Calcutta High Court. The party also announced the names of Milan Ghosh and Sujit Das for Samserganj and Jangipur seats respectively. She contested the 2021 assembly polls from the Entally seat and lost again to a TMC candidate by a staggering margin of more than 58,000 votes.


Related Articles

Back to top button