Landslide win for Vijay Baghel from Durg LS

Defeats nearest rival Pratima Chandrakar by huge margin of 391978 votes

BJP gets 61.02% of vote share, Congress 32.86%

Bhilai, May 23:
The result of Durg Lok Sabha constituency for the General Election 2019 was no different from the majority of other seats across the country where Bharatiya Janata Party secured a massive victory in a historic mandate sailing on nationalist wave.
The BJP candidate Vijay Baghel secured a landslide victory defeating his nearest rival Indian National Congress candidate Pratima Chandrakar by a huge margin of 391978 votes. Victory on this high profile Durg Lok Sabha seat is a matter of prestige mainly because it encompasses assembly segments that are home constituencies of Chief Minister and three of his cabinet ministers. Prior to this, in the recently held assembly elections (2018) – considered to be a semi final to the General Elections 2019- BJP had suffered a massive defeat. Out of 09 assembly constituencies, except for the sole seat of Vaishalinagar, Congress had registered victory on all the remaining 08 seats. However, almost six months after the assembly election the scenario is different; the whopping majority that Vijay Baghel secured in all the nine assembly constituencies prove that all the equations failed in front of the nationalist wave. Another interesting fact is that in the previous Lok Sabha Election (2014) the then BJP candidate Saroj Pandey was defeated by Congress candidate Tamradhwaj Sahu despite the Modi Wave at that time. In all 21 candidates were in fray from Durg Lok Sabha seat. About 19.28 lakh voters utilized their franchise to elect their representative.
The voter turn out in spite of the extreme heat wave condition was around 67.07%. BJP candidate Vijay Baghel secured 849374 votes, around 61.02% of the total polled votes. His nearest rival Congress candidate Pratima Chandrakar secured 457396 votes, around 32.86% of the total polled votes. Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Geetanjali Singh could collect only 20124, around 1.45% votes and remained at third position. In comparison, in general election-2014 the voting was around 67.74% with 12.58 lakh voters utilizing their franchise.
The Congress candidate had secured 45.35% of the total polled votes and BJP candidate had secured 44.01% of votes. It may be mentioned that Durg Lok Sabha seat has been in existence since the first Lok Sabha polls held in 1952 and was a congress stronghold. Of the 16 elections held so far 09 were won by Congress with Chandulal Chandrakar holding the record of winning this seat five times.
BJP candidate registered leading positions in all the nine assembly constituencies- Bhilai Nagar, Vaishali Nagar, Durg (Urban) Durg (Rural) Ahiwara, Patan Saja, Navagarh. But the lead from the four seats- Patan which is home constituency of Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel where the lead margin was 22753; Durg (Rural) home constituency of cabinet minister Tamradhwaj Sahu where the lead was 38729; Ahiwara home constituency of cabinet minister Guru Rudra Kumar where the lead was 57966; and Saja being home constituency of cabinet minister Ravindra Choube where the lead was 30762- is definitely a telling comment.
Prior to the official declaration of result, Congress candidate accepted her defeat and left the counting centre. According to her this is an unexpected result not only in Durg but the entire country and whatever the reasons it would be exposed within a couple of days. The Home Minister Tamradhwaj Sahu, MLA Arun Vora, DCC chief RN Verma also reiterated the same. On the other hand, it was celebration time for the BJP leaders and party workers who had collected at the counting centre. The moment Baghel was declared winner he was greeted with garlands and wishes and bursting of crackers.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button