Juneja appointed Chairman CHB, Vora gets SWCL

32 Cong leaders get key posts in state-run bodies

Raipur, Jul 16:
The Congress government in Chhattisgarh on Thursday appointed 32 party leaders, including four MLAs and some former lawmakers, to top positions of various boards, corporations and commissions in the state.
The development, which comes amid the political crisis in Rajasthan, is being viewed by the opposition BJP as an effort to pacify MLAs while claiming that there is “huge discontent” among the ruling party leaders. The state Congress, however, denied such claims.
Four Congress MLAs are among the 32 leaders appointed as chairmen, vice chairmen and members of various state-run bodies wherein the ruling party has tried to strike a caste and regional balance.
Fourteen Congress leaders from Raipur division, six from the tribal-dominated Bastar division and four leaders each from Surguja, Durg and Bilaspur divisions have been appointed to various boards, corporations, commissions and other state-run agencies.
Of these 32 leaders, eight belong to the Other Backward Classes (OBCs), five are from the Scheduled Tribe (STs) and two from Scheduled Castes (SC) while three belong to minority communities.
Devendra Bahadur Singh, the legislator from Basna constituency in Mahasamund district, has been appointed chairman of the State Forest Development Corporation, while Raipur-North MLA Kuldeep Juneja is made Chairman of the Chhattisgarh Housing Board (CHB), according to a government spokesperson.
Similarly, Durg MLA Arun Vora and Narayanpur legislator Chandan Kashyap have been appointed as Chairman of State Warehousing Corporation Limited (SWCL) and Hastshilp Vikas Board (HVB, respectively.
Former MP Karuna Shukla has been made chairperson of the Social Welfare Board, while former Raipur Mayor Kiranmayee Nayak has been appointed head of the state women’s commission.
Shukla is the niece of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
Besides, former MLA Mahant Ram Sundar Das has been appointed chairman of the Rajya Gau Sewa Aayog, and another ex-legislator Padma Manhar has been made member of the State Scheduled Castes Commission, according to the spokesperson.
With these appointments, total 25 Congress MLAs have been given key postings in the last three days in the state.
Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel on Tuesday appointed 15 Congress MLAs as parliamentary secretaries and assigned them to assist 12 cabinet ministers in the state.
On Wednesday night, the state government appointed six MLAs as chairmen and vice-chairmen of two development authorities.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button