IIFA Rocks: Film industry celebrates cinema with dance, music and fashion, honours stars behind the camera

It was a day of music, laughter and fashion at the IIFA Rocks here as the Bollywood stars descended for the gala at the Siam Niramit theatre in the capital city of Thailand.

The sidebar event of the Indian International Film Awards (IIFA) saw heart thumping performances by Nushrat Bharucha, the star of “Sonu ke Titu ki Sweety”, and TV actor Mouni Roy.

Nushrat gave a glitzy performance, dancing on the tracks from hit film such as “Dil Chori”, “Bom Diggy”, “Chhote Chhote Peg” and others.

While, Roy, best known for the show “Naagin”, left the audience awestruck with her performance on popular songs, including “Tareefan”, “Disco Disco” and “Ek Do Teen”.

The concluding segment of the ceremony, hosted by Bollywood actors Ayushmann Khurrana and Kartik Aaryan, also saw ace composer Pritam performing a medley of his songs with singers Sreerama Chandra, Amit Mishra, Shalmali Kholgade, Antara Mitra, Nakash Aziz and Nikitha.

In attendance were actors Varun Dhawan, Arjun Kapoor, Dia Mirza and husband Sahil Sangha, Karan Johar, Shraddha Kapoor, Kriti Sanon, Gulshan Grover, Mahie Vij, Konkona Sen Sharma, Rahul Bose and others.

Anil Kapoor and Dia graced the ramp as the showstoppers for designer duo Shantanu and Nikhil, who showcased their collection at the event.

Actor-model Diana Penty and Radhika Apte were the showstoppers for designer Vikram Phadnis.

The ceremony also saw awards being handed to out technicians for exemplary work in field of music, cinematography, screenplay and dialogue, and others in Bollywood.

Ranbir Kapoor-Katrina Kaif-starrer “Jagga Jasoo” went home with three awards– background score for Pritam, best choreography for Vijay Ganguly and Ruel Dausan Varindani, and special effects.

Nitesh Tiwari and Shreyas Jain, of “Bareilly Ki Barfi” fame, won the Best Screenplay while Hitesh Kewalya bagged the best dialogues for “Shubh Mangal Saavdhan”. Both the films featured Ayushmann in the lead.

Salman Khan-starrer “Tiger Zinda Hai” won two awards — best cinematography for Marcin Laskawiec, and best sound design to Dileep Subramaniam and Ganesh Gangadharan.

The three-day gala is being held in Bangkok, Thailand this year. The main awards night, to be hosted by Karan Johar and Riteish Deshmukh, will be held on Sunday.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button