Farmer’s suicide: BJP MLAs to probe reasons

Senior MLA Shivratan Sharma to head the three-member Committee

Central Chronicle News
Raipur, Oct 06:

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday constituted a three-member committee of Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) to probe the reasons behind the farmer reportedly committing suicide following failure of crop in Durg District in Chhattisgarh.
According to the information received, the senior BJP MLA Shivratan Sharma from Bhatapara would be the chairperson of the Committee whereas BJP MLA and General Secretary Narayan Chandel and Vidhyaratan Bhasin from Vaishali Nagar are the other members. After investigating the reasons behind the farmer’s suicide, the team would submit report to the Leader of Opposition Dharmlal Kaushik.
According to the information received, the three-member committee of MLAs would interact with the family members of deceased farmer.
It is notable that the 35 year old farmer Durgesh Kumar Nishad from village Matodih under Uti Police station in Durg District, had committed suicide in his field. Crop failure was considered to be the reason behind the incident. Home Minister Tamradhwaj Sahu too had visited the family members of the deceased and announced to provide financial assistance of Rs 4 lakh.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button