Employees express faith on local unions; take membership

Bhilai, May 29:
On Wednesday, more than 40 employees of Bhilai Steel Plant formally took membership of Joint Trade Union – Ispat Shramik Manch and Bhilai Mazdoor Sangh. Manch leaders claimed that the faith on the NJCS members has reduced significantly among the employees due to repeated failures of the national trade unions in protecting the rights of the labours. A large section of employees are highly aggrieved with the consecutive curtailments of the benefits as well as non-resolution of the issues including respectful designation, etc. For this reason only, the new employees of ACT / OCT grades are now inclined towards the non-NJCS local trade unions. The employees believe that they have suffered huge losses in the last three wage agreements and they are getting much lower benefits in comparison to the executives.
Ispat Shramik Manch secretary Ramkesh Meena informed that ACT / OCT employees in large number have taken membership of their union. Employees those who recently joined the union are Shankar Rao, Ashish Ramteke, Rajesh Sahu, Deepak Sharma, Sewaram taram, Manmohan Sahu, Visheswar Sasank, Dinesh Meena, Santosh Kumar, Pradeep Sahu, Hansraj Meena, Ravindra Chaudhary, Nitin Tamrakar, Kapur Meena, Piyush Samrat, Chandan, Satyam Kumar, Puran Bairva, Ranjeet Kumar, Dilkhush Meena, Hemraj Meena, Saroj Kumar Sharma, Kishore Kumar Rajwar, Rahul Pathak and others.
CGMS General Secretary Sheikh Mehmood and ISM General Secretary Rajesh Agrawal informed that some of the controversial agreements made by the NJCS member unions include discontinuation of EL Encashment; pendency of designation issue, discontinuation of FL encashment; HRA not on new basic pay; pension issue; pay revision delay; no local agreement, biometric attendance system; etc.
CGMS General Secretary stated that the union leaders, those who win the elections here, cannot act as per the will but they have to follow the instructions of their national leaders. The union which wins the election automatically gets the membership on NJCS as per the MOA 2012, Chapter 1 (4.1). He asserted that the employees those who vote for INTUC or CITU are actually electing the national level leaders like G Sanjeeva Reddy and Tapan Sen who are sitting in Delhi and are continuously taking anti-labour decisions. Sarvajeet Singh, Kishore Marathe, IS Thakur, Sitaram Sahu, Gaind Lal Verma, RD Deshlehra and others were present.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button