Ch’garh: BJP wins 9, Cong 2

Raipur, May 23 (PTI):
The BJP has won nine and Congress two out of the 11 Lok Sabha seats in Chhattisgarh as per the results declared by the Election Commission so far.
Former state minister Renuka Singh of the BJP defeated her Congress rival Khel Sai Singh in Surguja (ST) seat by a huge margin of 1,57,873 votes.
Another woman candidate of the BJP Gomtee Sai, president of Jashpur district panchayat, won from Raigarh (ST) seat against Congress’ Laljeet Singh Rathiya, a sitting MLA, by 66,027 votes.
In high-profile Raipur, state BJP vice president Sunil Soni defeated Congress candidate and Raipur Mayor Pramod Dubey by a whopping margin of 3,48,238 votes.
In the Raigarh (ST) seat, BJP candidate Gomtee Sai defeated Congress nominee Laljeet Singh Rathiya by 66249 votes. In the Janjgir-Champa (SC) seat, BJP’s Guharam Ajgalley defeated Congress rival Ravi Bhardwaj by 82326 votes. In the Kanker (ST) seat, BJP’s Mohan Mandavi defeated Congress’s Biresh Thakur by a thin margin of 4,967 votes, while in Bilaspur, BJP candidate Arun Sao is leading by 1,28,529 votes against his Congress rival Atal Shrivastav. In Mahasamund, BJP’s Chunnilal Sahu, who was initially trailing, has now taken a significant lead of 84,553 votes over his nearest Congress rival Dhanendra Sahu. and finally defeated his Congress rival.The ruling Congress won just two Lok Sabha seats – Bastar (ST) and Korba. Congress candidate Jyotsana Mahant, the wife of Assembly Speaker Charandas Mahant, from Korba defeated BJP’s Jyotinand Dubey, by 27,000 votes. In the Bastar (ST) seat, sitting Congress MLA Dipak Baij defeated BJP’s Baiduram Kashyap by 38982 votes.

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button