BJP to declare 2nd list of candidates later this week

MPs too be given Legislative Assembly tickets

Central Chronicle News

Raipur, Sept 26:

Giving momentum to the candidate selection for the upcoming Legislative Assembly polls in Chhattisgarh, the Bharatiya Janata Party would be announcing second list of candidates later this week as the Central Election Committee (CEC) is expected to give approval to the proposals.

BJP sources said that the Chhattisgarh Election in-charge Om Prakash Mathur and Co in-charge Central Minister Mansukh Mandavia have returned back to New Delhi to finalise the candidates with the CEC meeting. Both of them would initially hold talks with Union Home Minister Amit Shah on the probable before submitting the proposal to CEC. It is understood that the second list of candidates of BJP would comprise candidates for nearly 30 Legislative Assembly seats which it considers to be in comparatively in better position. It is notable that so far the BJP has announced candidates for 21 seats. With 8 Members of Parliament being fielded in Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly polls, the party insiders feel that nearly half a dozen MPs from Chhattisgarh would also be given party tickets for the upcoming Legislative Assembly polls. While the Durg Parliamentarian Vijay Baghel has already been given ticket against the Congress heavy-weight and Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel from Patan seat, the saffron brigade is all set to field the Bilaspur Parliamentarian and State BJP President Arun Sao from one of the Legislative seats from the region. Similarly, Raigarh MP Gomti Sai, Guharam Ajgale from Sarangarh, Santosh Pandey from Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha seats are among those who may be given Legislative Assembly tickets to give a strong response to the ruling Congress in Chhattisgarh.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button